Skip to main content

Migration Studies: Home

A guide

Migration Studies: An Overview

Worldwide interest in all aspects of migration has been growign steadily for decades. At this point in time many universities and think tanks located both in the developed and developing worlds are studying migration and publishing indexes, databaes and journals.This guide presents a selective list of some of the most prominent information resources for this topic.

Databases

Population Index

This website provides a searchable database containing 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in Population Index in the period 1986-2000. The complete journal collection going back to the 1930s is available in JSTOR.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)

 Citations for journal articles spanning all social science disciplines.

 

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic: Inlcudes thousands of newspapers and newswires in full-text back to 1980.  

Factiva: Access to 8000-plus news publications from the U.S. and beyond.

Alt-Press Watch: Indexes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.  Coverage begins about 1995.

Ethnic News Watch covers 1990 to present and includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

 

Selected Journals (electronic access for UCB only)

There are many Law journals covering migration issues, but some of the following titles hail from other disciplines. This is a highly selective list and a thorough search should be conducted using databases such as those listed above.

European Journal of Migration and Law

Forced Migration Review 

International Journal of Refugee Law

International Migration

International Migration Review

Journal of International Migration and Integration

Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies

Refugee Survey Quarterly

 

Working Paper Series

Working papers are a useful source of information and often reflect the very latest developments in faculty research in a variety of disciplines.

Center for Migration and Development Working Papers  (Princeton)

Center for Comparative Immigration Studies at UCSD

Center on Migration, Policy & Society (Oxford University)

OECD Social, Employment and Migration Working Papers

International Migration Institute, Oxford University

Social Science Research Network  (SSRN)

University of Sussex, Centre for Migration Research

 

Web Sites and Online Guides

There are many web sites that contain useful information on migration, internally displaced persons, etc. Here is a sampling of what is available.

Center for Immigration Studies

Coalition Against Trafficking in Women

Forced Migration Online

Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre

ILO, International Migration  ◦Information Resources

LANIC, Immigration & Migration (Latin America)

Migration Policy Group  (MPG)

http://immigrationforum.org/

 

Selected Data Sources

Eurobarometer:  surveys of public opinion in the countries of the European Union

OECD, International Migration Database

Pew Social and Demographic Trends:

UNESCO, Trafficking Statistics

The World Factbook (CIA)

 

Other Migration Web Guides

Harvard Library Immigration Research Guide

UC Berkeley Law Library: Global Migration Issues

Cornell University Library: Immigration

Oxford University: Guide to Migration Studies

 

Locating Books Using Library of Congress Subject Headings

Use Library of Congress subject headings in various online library catalogs to discover relevant materials by subject. This is a crucial step in all research processes.

Emigration and immigration

Emigration and immigration law

Forced migration

Globalization--social aspects

Immigrants

Migration--internal

Population transfers

 Refugees--legal status, laws, etc.

Subject Guide

Terence Huwe
Contact:
Terence K. Huwe
Director of Library & Information Resources
IRLE Library
2521 Channing Way, #5555
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-5555

(510) 643-7061
Website / Blog Page