Library of Congress Subject Headings
Use these subject headings when searching library catalogues (UCB Pathfinder, Melvyl, or other research collections such as Harvard or Stanford). Use the subject heading option for retrieval. These headings can be combined with other search field for more targeted results; consult the local “help” sections to find out how each catalogue you search is organized. These headings will also have value as search strings in Google Scholar (but may return different results than a library catalogue would). There many related headings and sub-headings, so it may also be useful to browse the subject heading list.
Emigration and immigration – economic aspects
Immigration and family
Immigrants – California
Children of migrant laborers
Immigrants – government policy – United States
Emigration and Immigration law – United States
Aliens – United States
Emigration and immigration – government policy – United States
Immigrants – Government Policy- California
Labor in South Asia Web Resources
University of California Berkeley’s South/Southeast Asia Library
The South/Southeast Asia Library (S/SEAL) is the Berkeley campus library reference center for South and Southeast Asian social sciences and humanities. SSEAL includes an extensive reference collection of bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, atlases, directories, statistical annuals and core works, as well as current issues of high-use periodicals.
Asia Monitor Resource Center
Asia Monitor Resource Center (AMRC) is an independent NGO focusing on labor concerns in Asia and the Pacific. The Center provides trade unions, pro-labor groups, related NGOs, academics, researchers, and professionals on labor issues with information, publications, documentation, internships, and conducts research and training for trade unions.
Center for Migration Studies
The Center for Migration Studies of New York is one of the premier institutes for migration studies in the United States. It is committed to facilitating the study of socio-demographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human migration and refugee movements. CMS performs a critical function in migration studies as it generates and facilitates the dissemination of new knowledge and fosters of effective policymaking. CMS brings an independent perspective to the interdisciplinary study of international migration and refugees without the institutional constraints of government analysts and special interest groups, or the profit considerations of private research firms
Institute for the Study of International Migration
The Institute for the Study of International Migration [ISIM] is affiliated with the Law Center at Georgetown University. ISIM focuses on all aspects of international migration, including the causes of and potential responses to population movements, immigration and refugee law and policy, comparative migration studies, the integration of immigrants into their host societies, and the effects of international migration on social, economic, demographic, foreign policy and national security concerns. ISIM also studies internal displacement, with particular attention to the forced movements of people for reasons that would make them refugees if they crossed an international border.
Migration Dialogue provides timely, factual and nonpartisan information and analysis of international migration issues through five major activities: the newsletters Migration News and Rural Migration News, Changing Face and other Research & Seminars, and the CEME project. The Cooperative Efforts to Manage Emigration (CEME) project examines ways in which immigration destinations can work more effectively with source and transit countries to coordinate movements and reduce emigration pressures.
Center for Immigration Studies
The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit research organization founded in 1985. It is the nation's only think tank devoted exclusively to research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the United States. It is the Center's mission to expand the base of public knowledge and understanding of the need for an immigration policy that gives first concern to the broad national interest.
The Urban Institute, Immigration Studies Program
The Immigration Studies Program addresses many of the critical issues that surround the integration of newcomers. For instance, immigrants are increasingly dispersed across the United States, settling in smaller cities, towns and rural areas. Immigrant populations are growing especially rapidly in Southeastern, Midwestern, and interior Western states, many of which have little experience in incorporating newcomers. How these states and communities deal with the challenges involved in integrating these new populations is one central area of our research.
National Immigration Forum
Established in 1982, the National Immigration Forum is the nation’s premier immigrant rights organization. The Forum is dedicated to embracing and upholding America’s tradition as a nation of immigrants. The Forum advocates and builds public support for public policies that welcome immigrants and refugees and are fair to and supportive of newcomers to our country.
Mexican Migration Project
The Mexican Migration Project was created in 1982 by an interdisciplinary team of researchers to further our understanding of the complex process of Mexican migration to the United States. Since its inception, the MMP's main focus has been to gather social as well as economic information on Mexican-US migration. The data collected has been compiled in a comprehensive database that is available to the public for research and educational purposes through this web-site.
Scalabrini Migration Center(SMC)
The Scalabrini Migration Center (SMC) is a non-profit research institute established in 1987 and based in Manila, Philippines. SMC is dedicated to encourage and facilitate the study of socio-demographic, economic, political, psychological, historical, legislative and religious aspects of human migration and refugee movements from and within Asia.
SMC is a member of the Federation of Centers for Migration Studies (FCMS) "G.B. Scalabrini," which is responsible for the publication of some of the major journals on migration studies. SMC is also an associate member of the UNESCO-MOST Asia-Pacific Migration Research Network (APMRN) and of the Philippine Migration Research Network (PMRN).
TRAC's Immigration Project is a unique new multi-year effort to systematically go after very detailed information from the government, check it for accuracy and completeness and then make it available in an understandable way to the American people, Congress, immigration groups and others. The project is supported by the JEHT Foundation, the Ford Foundation and Syracuse University.
TRAC seeks to separate clearly written reports on important immigration matters — administrative enforcement, criminal enforcement, staffing, etc. It is developing a special TRAC tool that provides one-click access to the very latest monthly data on the criminal enforcement of the immigration laws, along with a clear explanatory text. It provides an extensive library of reports on immigration matters by the GAO, CRS and inspectors general. The site includes a plain English glossary of frequently used words and acronyms common to the immigration world.
Search Tips and Sources
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Expanded Academic ASAP
Journals that Cover Migration Issues
Asian Pacific Migration Journal
The Scalabrini Migration Center (SMC)
Main Stack JV8490.A12
Latin American Perspectives
Main Stack F1401.L365
Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
Taylor and Francis Publishers
Main Stack HN381.N45
The International migration review : IMR.
Center for Migration Studies
Main Stack JV6001.I78
Migration world magazine
Center for Migration Studies
Main Stack JV6001.M53
Useful Search Strings to Use:
Fall/Spring Semester Hours
Monday - Thursday
9am - 12pm, 1pm - 5pm
9am - 12pm, 1pm - 4pm
Information Services & Circulation close 15 minutes before the Library closes.